We have….the chance to turn the pages over

I’d prepared almost an entire post about how I didn’t know who to vote for. I even did up a pros and cons table based on what I cared about. The worst thing I found with this election* is that I couldn’t choose a side and agree with all of their policies….I was thinking about voting Greens but there are some of their policies I definitely don’t agree with. I usually vote Liberal and for the past three elections haven’t had to think about it, I just did. Why? I’m not sure. I’m pretty conservative I guess and everything seemed to be cruising along alright. As I blogged about at the time I was slightly shocked to find that the Government can actually change! I didn’t vote for Labor!! Why are they in power!

I was still so undecided while I locked my bike up and dawdled into the enormous line. Bill Shorten was doing his thing and chatting up all the voters while they queued and I had a quick chat to him. I said I was still undecided between Labor and Greens and he was pretty good to talk to although the number of times he said the word ‘real’ was disconcerting. So the chat combined with the fact I was already leaning towards Labor made up my mind. I voted Labor.

I feel so dirty. The man says it doesn’t matter who I vote for. One vote is not going to change anything. Of course I ignored him which I why I found it so hard to make up my mind.

I found the whole marketing of the different parties very interesting. I’m sure it’s because I’m older now, but I seem to have become a bit of an election geek. Although I still don’t know much! To be honest I don’t know the nitty gritty of each parties policies so I was probably influenced heavily by how they were presented by the media (incl. social media). There was a lot of talk about how this election was more like a presidential election, where you are voting for a person. I won’t lie, one of the main reasons I couldn’t vote Liberal was Tony Abbott. Maybe they had good policies? But whatever they were, they weren’t as obvious to me as Labor and the Greens policies were. All I could see was Tony making an enormous goose of himself (and the party).

I know a lot of people don’t talk about who they vote for. I’m not really sure why that is. I just don’t know enough about politics or sadly even current affairs to be able to debate one way or another so I don’t really mind people knowing who I gave my vote to. Just because I voted Labor this time doesn’t mean I will next time. Some people I know are staunch supporters of one party but I’m happy to be a swing voter. Be interesting to see the outcome because just about all my mates are voting Greens!

– Jen

* this may have always been the case but I never cared this much before

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We have….the chance to turn the pages over

  1. Mum says:

    Well Jen, I too have always voted Liberal but this election I wasn’t sure. Not a lot of difference between their policy at this point. Living in a safe seat we get absolutely nothing from either mainstream party, doesn’t matter who gets into government. A very safe Liberal seat and labour puts up a candidate who is twenty years old. An insult to the electorate, clearly they don’t take us seriously. So OMG for the first time I voted independant. I want to live in a marginal seat or at least have the major partys take us seriously. Probably won’t make any difference.

  2. Daniel says:

    Jen, good on you for thinking about what’s important to you and voting accordingly. Far too many people don’t think about it enough.

  3. Jen says:

    Hmm well maybe my parents were the reason I was voting Liberal! And thanks Daniel! I still have a lot to learn. Last night I was regretting voting Labor and wishing I’d voted Greens but then I just realised I wanted to be a part of the ‘greenslide’, and I’m still happy I chose Labor. Apart from the fact Stephen Conroy got re-elected. I should have voted below the line.

  4. Raelene says:

    Like you, I have always voted the same, but wasn’t happy to go with the flow this year. We are in the safest of safe labors seats (3rd from the top I think??) so I figured my vote wouldn’t really make much difference, and sure enough, ALP had won Gorton by 6.30 I think 🙂
    Anyway, I went with my heart and voted Greens this year. First time ever. Don’t agree with all of their policies, but the thing that ended up helping me decide was the fact that they had definite policies and decisions made. The ALP/Libs were so wishy washy and maybe they’d do this and maybe they’d do that, I couldn’t with all good conscience vote for either. So that was how I got to my vote.
    If any of the parties’ volunteers had set up a sausage sizzle, I’d have gone with them. I think we’d have had a better chance of a barby had we voted at the older school a little further from home. They needed the fundraiser!

  5. The man says:

    Just to clarify, the reason I said your vote won’t make a difference is because we are in a safe labor seat… if we were in a marginal seat we will get more recognition and funding in the area, therefore by voting for the greens Labor still gets the preferences but not the primary vote making our seat just little less safe for labor and maybe in the future they will put more money and time into our electorate.
    I firmly believe every vote counts, but like George Orwell illustrated “some are more equal then others”, this election shows how important every vote is… well at least in the marginal seats.

Leave a Reply

