Winner winner chicken (soup) dinner

I am not great at cooking. Or rather, I didn’t used to be good at cooking. But since becoming pregnant, I seem to be improving. I think its something to do with having a lot more time (and believe it or not, energy) since I’m not off riding all the time!

Tonight I felt like soup but I used my Soup & Co for a vegie soup yesterday and wanted to make a ‘real’ soup. I found a recipe for chicken soup and away I went to the supermarket.

I wasn’t the only person in Albury to be having a soup night, there were no leeks left and not much to choose from chicken stock wise. No, I am not making my own stock. Just cooking soup is big enough for me!

So, this chicken soup is pretty simple.

1 x leek, halved, chopped in half (I used a brown onion as the supermarket had no leeks)
2 x zucchini (or 1 x regular sized one – why would a recipe say two small ones!)
1 x large carrot (or 2 x small ones like I had)
2 x celery sticks
1 x turnip or swede (I used a swede)
1kg of chicken lovely legs (I had no idea what those were but ended up finding them in the chicken section)
1.5 cups of soup mix
8 cups of chicken stock
1 cup of cold water
Some nice bread to serve

Method. Pretty simple. Dice all the vegies. Cook the leek in some olive oil, when its clear add in the rest of the vegies. Cook for 2 minutes. Add in all the other ingredients.
Bring to the boil. Then simmer for 1 hour. Remove chicken and discard bones, chop chicken and add back in.

Serve with crusty buttered bread. Or, if you don’t have any of that because you forgot to buy some, toast whatever you had in the freezer  – crumpets for me! Wish you had crusty bread.
Enjoy!

soup

– Jen
p.s. It was so good even the man ate it – AND he had seconds.
p.p.s Need to work on food photography…

This entry was posted in Cooking with Jentopia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

