#45 (redux) I set a goal and got there!

// For the next 50 days I am doing Fat Mum Slim’s 50 things to blog about challenge – in no particular order.

parkrun2

A few days ago I blogged about how I was setting a goal to run 5km in under 30 minutes by the start of August. I reluctantly trotted down to our local parkrun on Saturday morning (I very nearly got back into bed) and smashed out a 27:53. My previous best was 32 minutes so I definitely did NOT as my Mum has suggested set an ‘easy’ goal, I just dug really deep.

My knee held up okay, and I reckon I ran a negative split. Hard to say because I ran naked (no garmin) but I was feeling okay at the halfway point and thought that I’d better give it everything I’ve got and then maybe I’ll get close to the 30 minute mark.

I didn’t even know I’d done it until I got the email from parkrun with my time, when I got in the car it was 8:38am so I was trying to figure out how long I stood around gas bagging when I’d finished and reckoned it was maybe 5 or 6 minutes so thought I’d come in around 30 – 31 minutes.

Anyway, go me. time to get real and set a new running goal. Sub 25 minutes by the end of this year!

– Jen

This entry was posted in 50 things to post about, Running with Jentopia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #45 (redux) I set a goal and got there!

  1. awmalloy says:

    25 is my aim too Jen, I want to get in the first wave for Run Melbourne next year. Currently running around 28.

Leave a Reply

